Skip to product information
1 of 2

Octavian and Marschallin

Octavian and Marschallin

Regular price £100.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £100.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

"Der Rosenkavalier" is an opera in three acts composed by Richard Strauss with a libretto by Hugo von Hofmannsthal. The opera premiered in Dresden, Germany in 1911, and it remains one of the most frequently performed operas in the repertoire.

One of the most famous scenes in "Der Rosenkavalier" is the final trio, in which the three main characters sing a farewell to youth and love. This scene is often referred to as the "Presentation of the Rose" scene, as the young Count Octavian presents a silver rose to the Marschallin, a married woman with whom he has been having an affair.

At the end of Act II, the Marschallin sings an aria called "Ist ein Traum" ("Is it a dream") in which she reflects on the fleeting nature of youth and beauty. The final lines of the aria are "Die Zeit, die ist ein sonderbar Ding / Wenn man es recht bedenkt / Denn alle Augenblicke / Die uns so kleinigkeiten dünken / Die kann uns ein Glück oder Unglück bringen / Wie die Zukunft und die Vergangenheit / In einem Augenblick zusammentrifft" ("Time is a strange thing / When you really think about it / For all the moments that seem insignificant / Can bring us happiness or sorrow / Like the future and the past / Meeting in a single moment").

View full details