Skip to product information
1 of 2

Moonlight Sonata

Moonlight Sonata

Regular price £100.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £100.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Moonlight Sonata is a piano sonata composed by Ludwig van Beethoven in 1801. The piece is one of Beethoven's most famous and beloved compositions, and is widely regarded as one of the greatest piano works of all time.

The sonata is in three movements, with the first movement being the most well-known. It is marked "Adagio sostenuto," which means slow and sustained, and features a melancholic melody that is accompanied by rolling arpeggios in the left hand. The second movement is a more upbeat scherzo, while the third movement returns to the mood of the first movement with a haunting melody that gradually builds in intensity before ending in a flurry of notes.

The name "Moonlight Sonata" was not given by Beethoven himself, but was instead given by a music critic several years after the sonata's composition. The name was inspired by the ethereal and otherworldly quality of the first movement, which some listeners felt evoked the image of moonlight shining on a dark and mysterious landscape.

The Moonlight Sonata has been featured in numerous films, television shows, and advertisements, and has been arranged and transcribed for a variety of instruments. It remains one of the most popular and enduring works in the classical piano repertoire.

View full details